You are suspicious that the worst might just have happened – you are blocked on Snapchat! Now what? Alternatively, what if it’s just a bug? What if their account got deleted instead? How can you know for sure if you’ve been blocked?
This post will give you some easy ways to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat. Try these before attempting something more complicated such as creating another account and following that person, as these steps might save you some time.
Search For Their Username
The first and the most obvious step is to search for your Snapchat friend’s username. If you know their full name, try searching for that too. The rule is simple – if you can’t find their username, there is a high chance that you are indeed blocked.
The other possibility is that they have disabled their account. If that is the case, they will have 30 days to reactivate it. If they decide to do so, you will again be on their friend list, as it will return to its previous state. However, if they don’t reactivate it within those 30 days, it will be deleted for good.
However, if the username shows when you search for it, you are not blocked. Instead, they have deleted you from their friends list. In some sense, it is better to be deleted than blocked, as it at least indicates they might want to have some future contact with you. But, it’s not ideal.
Check Your Friends List
Your Snapchat friend list will tell you if the person has an active Snapchat account or if they might have blocked you. If you can’t find them on the list, chances are they either blocked you or have deleted their account.
If you can’t find them in your friend list, go back to the previous method and try searching for their username using the magnifying glass icon. If you can find them there, they haven’t blocked you but have deleted you from their friend list. However, if they aren’t there, you are either blocked or they have deleted their account.
Search Through Message History
Snapchat is a cool app as it gives users total control over their message history, which is why we all love it. In fact, they were the pioneers of “temporary” messages that automatically delete themselves upon viewing or after a set period. Now we see similar features in mainstream chat apps, too, such as WhatsApp.
Anyway, if you had chatted with a person of interest, and now you can’t even find them on the chat list, you are out of luck. While you can see someone else’s message history using phone trackers, whenever you block someone on Snapchat, the app will generally automatically delete the entire conversation. If you can’t find the person in the chat list, that means you are most likely blocked.
Search For Them From a Different Account
If everything else fails, the only sure way to identify if someone has blocked you is to create another account or ask a friend or family member to use theirs.
Search for their username or full name from a different account – if you can find them, they have blocked you 100%. Whether you are going to contact them from that new account is up to you.
However, if you can’t find their username again, their account is probably deleted. Whether it got suspended or they deleted their account on purpose, you can’t know for sure. The fact that you aren’t blocked doesn’t change much, as you won’t be able to get in contact via Snapchat anyway.
Keep in mind that there’s a slight chance they have blocked your second account, too, especially if they knew you were using it before. This also might happen if you asked a friend to check – the friend’s account might be blocked, too, if the person knows they are your friend and that you would contact them that way. The chances that this happens are very slim, but it is something you should consider, depending on your behavior.
What To Do If Someone Blocked You On Snapchat?
If the worst has happened, and you got blocked on Snapchat, there’s not much you can do. Every person has the right to block anyone, and as long as the block remains, you will be unable to contact them via that Snapchat account. Blocking can sometimes also be necessary in cases where you suspect that someone isn’t a good person or is ill-intentioned. If you want to be in the know about such people on your child’s or partner’s account, you can use spy apps for Snapchat to monitor who they talk to.
What you can do is create another account. However, if you have done or told something wrong, as soon as you contact the person, there is a high likelihood that they will block you again.
Therefore, your best course of action is probably to let things cool down. After a while, contact the person in another way, if you know them personally, and try to sort things out.
But, if the only contact you have with them is their Snapchat, you can risk and get in touch after you create another account. Even if that is the case, we suggest waiting for some time to pass and then contacting them, especially if you deserved to get blocked. Reaching to them immediately from another account can only make things worse.
Getting blocked on any social platform is far from pleasant. Although your feelings are probably hurt, it’s best not to take radical action. Sure, check if the person has blocked you, but if you figure out that they did – leave them be. Reconsider your previous actions, and take responsibility if you did something wrong. Don’t bother them anymore, lesson learned, just behave differently in your future conversations, and everything will be fine and dandy.